Personal/Ethical Shoop Question(S)

A True Open Forum; Share/Discuss whatever you like
Masato
Site Admin

Personal/Ethical Shoop Question(S)

Postby Masato » Fri May 02, 2014 4:54 pm

Hey all

So for a long time I've been trying to create a way to do more personally meaningful creative work as a career instead of the soul-sucking advertising work I've been doing for the past 14 years (which pays well, but is slowly killing me creatively).

Recently, someone contacted me(Masato Toys) from a popular website loaded with all kinds of pop-culture funny content. He offered to build a possible relationship asking me to do shoops for pay whenever ideas come up that they think I'd be good for. Offered me $500 for 6 relatively easy shoops.

At first I was thrilled, this is exactly what I've been waiting for. Now I can start building a name outside MMA and maybe start a new kind of career!

Except the idea he pitched is really kind of tasteless, and imo somewhat racist. Yes it will get tons of hits (his admitted goal), and will likely go viral and get all kinds of attention. Yes it will be funny in a kind of stupid and meaningless way.

But on the other hand, it's only funny in a kind of stupid and meaningless..! - I know my MMA work is also mostly stupid and meaningless, but its because I love MMA and am passionate about those stupid and meaningless things, lol. But my goal has always been that if I am to expand beyond MMA, I would want to do things that are more thought-provoking, some integrity and meaning behind them.

Should I take the gig as a way to get my feet wet?

Its so lame I wouldn't even want to put it in my portfolio, its just not really my style at all... Of course I could make it funny if you like that kind of stuff, but its not really an idea I would be proud of. Illustrating empty ideas from other people is exactly what I want to get away from one day!