My 1st 'Inktober'

A True Open Forum; Share/Discuss whatever you like
Masato
Site Admin

My 1st 'Inktober'

Postby Masato » Wed Oct 04, 2017 5:39 pm

Hey all

So I have all kinds of weird hangups and issues when it comes to drawing... I draw for a living but not for fun. Doing cracker jack work for clients doesn't pressure me, but exploring my own style and drawing for enjoyment is usually an anxious experience. Hence, I don't draw outside of work. Always anxious about what will come out, having standards perhaps exceeding my skills etc

Recently in life I have made some resolutions to change that, trying to take those first big steps outside of my comfort zone etc... I used to always bring sketchbooks on vacation but never touched any of them, lol. This last trip to Brasil I actually sat down and started sketching, maybe for the first time in my life.

Then I came home and this 'Inktober' things kicks in, and I fucking hide lol. All kinds of guilt etc. Voice inside KNOWS I should just do it but I avoid the first 3 days.

Then I discover some cool pages to get inspiration like this:

Each one would have a different theme; cyberpunk, post-apocalyptic, space-age, urban teen, etc etc - a GREAT idea! Every day you have the assignment (I always freeze up deciding WTF to draw)

Anyways today I had a window of time and instead of squandering it doing something useless I saw down and did my first Inktober.

Since I missed 3 days already I did the first 3 characters off the list, hoping that counts as 3 :)

1. The Old Man
2. The Forest Witch
3. The Dryads

Masato
Site Admin

Postby Masato » Wed Oct 04, 2017 5:42 pm

A good friend of mine from college is now maybe one of the best artists I've ever come across, and he swears the secret is pure VOLUME. He's been making a digital painting every day for like 4 years now or something and is goddamn incredible.

I've been avoiding this for too long. Like starting BJJ again when I was almost 40, maybe some wisdom kicks in late ;D