What made you love MMA? Tell your story here

MMA, BJJ, & The Martial Arts
Masato
Site Admin

What made you love MMA? Tell your story here

Postby Masato » Tue Jul 03, 2012 11:19 pm

When was the moment you became HOOKED?

I watched from UFC II, but lost interest. Had a brief return of excitement when Vitor Belfort came on the scene, but when Couture beat him I lost interest again.

THEN I FOUND PRIDE GP 2000 at an indy video store, and witnessed the Sakuraba/Royce fight... and it changed my whole world. It is to this day IMO the greatest and most historic MMA match ever, and possibly still the coolest thing I have ever seen :) The Gracie/Japan legacy, Helio, the Triple-Mask Entrance, the no rounds - a living comic book fantasy, but it was all real.

I started training BJJ and have become a hopeless fan ever since.

Garrbanzzo

Postby Garrbanzzo » Fri Jul 06, 2012 12:43 pm

My earliest memories of MMA must have been around 1996 or 1997. I was 10 years old and my family had satellite TV for the first time. I remember viewing commercials featuring the old school UFC mascot (the bald dude that used to hammer fist the globe) and the Pride fist holding the lightning bolt but not much else until about 11 year later.