Question for Mega

A True Open Forum; Share/Discuss whatever you like
Masato
Site Admin

Question for Mega

Postby Masato » Wed Jun 05, 2019 2:36 pm

Hey Mega

I need to call on your musical expertise.

I have finally reached a point in life where I realize I can't keep listening to the same music over and over anymore, lol. I've been listening to the same stuff for over 20 years now and I love them all but I'm actually getting sick of it.

Also going through some mild mid-life crisis/evolution stuff, lol :D My mother recently died, I am preparing for some pretty big personal changes of plans, kids getting dangerously older, and I'm sort of re-inventing/discovering myself as I am beginning to see down the latter half of my life coming. Going through some kind of change here, its good but I don't have a soundtrack yet :D

Problem is I don't know shit about music, and most stuff just doesn't really inspire me.

All the music I liked was always real, unpretentious. Had heart and soul but didn't over-do it or had big egos attached. I like punk rock, Bob Marley, etc. Like I said heart and soul but not pretentious. My wife got me into brazilian music, I like a lot of it the lyrics are always genuine and true.

Lately I got excited about SOUL MUSIC. As cheesy as it sounds, those Guardian of the Galaxy movies kind of triggered my appetite for new music. Most of the songs I liked best were old soul songs by Sam Cooke, Al Green etc. I went on a bit of a bender and discovered lots of badass tunes I remember from tarantino flicks etc. But after a while there was just too many 'get your woman into bed' cheesy romantic stuff and I became disillusioned. I like good love songs but not all the time, lol

SO MY QUESTION:

What could you recommend for me to explore that you think I might dig?